Reo Māori - supporting continued learning

Great news! We have added more features to your account.

Each participant in the Māori Language Movement now has a profile page. A profile records the moments you’ve taken part in and the content you’ve shared to our website in the past. This is for you to measure your progress and for us to help support your reo journey.

There are two types of profile pages: Individuals and Groups.

Takitahi - Individual profiles

Anyone who signs up on our website will have a profile page to record their participation. 

  • You can update your own information and control what is shown on your profile, or hide it completely
  • Any content you upload will appear on your profile, if you choose
  • You can connect to a Group page to show association and share content to your workplace, school, or group

 Takitini - Group pages

Group pages are for organisations, friends, whānau, schools, clubs - any grouping of people to collectively display their participation. Any individual can connect to a group. Once connected, you can share your moments to the group page and also show your connected groups on your own profile page. The person who creates the group will become the sole Admin for the page. The Admin can assign editors to help with the management of the page.

The Admin of a group page can:

  • Assign/remove editors
  • Edit page information
  • Moderate posts

An Editor of a group page can

  • Edit page information
  • Moderate posts

FAQs

How do I login?
You can login to the website here. For returning users, use the same email and name that you used to create your account.

How can I edit my Profile?
When signed-in, select the gear icon in the top right corner and hit ‘Edit Profile’ to edit your public profile settings. To edit your private account settings, click on the dropdown arrow in top right corner, next to your profile icon, and select ‘Account Settings’. If this is your first time you will be prompted to create a password.

Who can see my Profile/Profile information?
All profiles are public by default and can be viewed by anybody who visits the Reo Māori website. However, other users will not be able to see your email address and mobile number as these are private settings (see next question). You have the option to completely hide your profile if you don't want it public - when logged in and looking at your profile just hit the gear icon and ‘Edit Profile’ and tick the checkbox "Don't publish my profile on the website".

What is the difference between public and private settings?
Public settings are visible on your profile to all users. Private settings are not publicly visible and are only seen by you.

My Profile doesn’t have a picture, how do I upload one?
To upload a profile picture, navigate to your profile page and click the gear icon in the top right corner. Go to ‘Edit Profile’ and then use the upload image field.

How do I connect to a Group?
To connect to a group, search
here and click on the Group you want to connect to. On the Group page you will see a gear icon in the top right corner. Select ‘Connect’.  If your group does not have a page, you can create one here.

How do I sign up a new Group?
To sign up a new Group go here. You will be prompted to search our directory first to make sure it doesn’t already exist. If it doesn’t, you can go ahead and create a new one.

How can I see which Groups I am connected with?
Navigate to your profile by clicking ‘My Profile’ in the user menu in the top right corner.  You will see all of the organisations you are connected with in a section titled ‘Groups you have connected with’.  This section will not be visible if you have not connected with any groups yet.

How can I see who's in my Group?

If you are an Admin, go to your group page and click the cog to edit profile, you will see a button called Admin control. Click this for a list of everyone who is connected. If you are not Admin, we are working on an update in the future to make viewing members available for the public. Stay tuned!

How can I get people to join my Group?

The person has to have their own account on our website first. They can sign in on the homepage here. There are two ways they can connect.

  1. They can search for your group name here to find the page and then hit the connect button on the Group page.
  2. You can send them a direct link to your Group, and when they are on the page they can hit the connect button.

How can I post to a Group page?
When you are sharing a new moment, you will have an option to share to any of your connected groups by ticking a checkbox before you share your post. Checking this will post it to the chosen group page as well as your personal profile.

How do I transfer Admin ownership of a Group page?
You must be the current Admin to transfer ownership of a Group page. Go to your Group page and select the gear icon in the top right corner. From there, select ‘Admin control’ to transfer Admin rights to someone else.

What is the difference between an Editor and an Admin?
There is only one Admin assigned to a Group. This person is visible to the public and has full control over the Group. The Admin can assign Editors who help to moderate and manage the group page. Editors can hide/show posts to the page, edit the page information and photo, and feature/unfeature posts. 

How do I add someone as an Editor of my Group?
The person must first have their own individual account and be connected to your Group. 
They can search for your group name here to find the page and then hit the connect button on the Group page. Or you can send them a direct link to your Group, and when they are on the page they can hit the connect button. 

Once they are connected, go to the cog wheel in the top right corner of your page. Click edit profile. Here you will find Admin Control settings. If a member is connected, they will show here. You can assign people as Editors here.

How do I request ownership of a Group page?
When logged in to your own account, go to the group you want to change the Admin for. Select the gear icon in the top right of the page and choose ‘Show admin’ to see if you recognise or know this person. You can choose to resolve the issue in person, or report the issue to our team by clicking ‘Report profile’ > ‘Incorrect ownership’.

How do I report inappropriate content on a profile which is not mine?
When you’re signed in and looking at the profile, click the gear icon on the upper right side of your screen. Select Report profile’ and choose ‘Inappropriate content’ from the pop-up box options.

Can’t find the answer to your question here? Contact us.